Savage Garden – To the Moon and Back


This song has always made me think of me, even since back in the 90s when it first came out. I used to listen to it in high school over and over, thinking they were singing about me. Unlike the song, however, I never thought anyone would come along who would love me and understand me. My husband and I may have our issues (as any two people with mental illnesses would), but I know that I am 100% committed to him and he is 100% committed to me. I don’t have to worry about him leaving me because I got too crazy one day. I have been hurt by many people. I recently learned that I cannot count on the woman I thought was my best friend. It is really sinking in that I can’t count on the family I was born into. The only person is my husband. My husband and my dog! 🙂 I think I’m too damaged for anyone else.

“To The Moon And Back”

She’s taking her time making up
     the reasons
To justify all the hurt inside
Guess she knows from the smile
     and the look in their eyes
Everyone’s got a theory about the
     bitter one
They’re saying, “Mamma never loved
     her much”
And, “Daddy never keeps in touch
That’s why she shies away from
     human affection”
But somewhere in a private place
She packs her bags for outer space
And now she’s waiting for the right
     kind of pilot to come
And she’ll say to him
She’s saying

[chorus:]
I would fly to the moon & back if
     you’ll be…
If you’ll be my baby
Got a ticket for a world where we
     belong
So would you be my baby?

She can’t remember a time when she
     felt needed
If love was red then she was colour
     blind
All her friends they’ve been tried for
     treason
And crimes that were never defined
She’s saying, “Love is like a barren
     place,
And reaching out for human faith is
Is like a journey I just don’t have a
     map for”
So baby’s gonna take a dive and
Push the shift to overdrive
Send a signal that she’s hanging
All her hopes on the stars
What a pleasant dream
Just saying

[chorus]

(hold on… hold on…)

Mamma never loved her much
And Daddy never keeps in touch
That’s why she shies away from
     human affection
But somewhere in a private place
She packs her bags for outer space
And now she’s waiting for the right
     kind of pilot to come
And she’ll say to him
Just saying

[chorus twice]

Categories: Borderline Personality Disorder, BPD, Daily Life, Health, Life, Personal, Thoughts, Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Savage Garden – To the Moon and Back

  1. I used to listen to this song all the time through junior high (where I was when it got really popular) and now and then I listen to the cd again, but this song especially still hits that place with me. I love it, especially since, like you, I see myself so much in it. (well, not counting that I have made peace with my parents, and I love them to bits, and they have really been there for me the past few years now, which feels like the first time since I was a small child …)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

