Worry, worry, worry


I am feeling paralyzed by my anxiety right now.  I don’t even know what to do.  I am at work, and, lucky for me, my boss has gone to lunch.  He could be back any minute, though.  I can’t think.  I don’t know what I’m supposed to be doing.  I don’t know if there is anything even to do.  I may be out of work for the day.  That brings up another problem:  How am I going to look busy for the remaining 3 1/2 hours of the workday?  I hope my boss calls and tells me he will be out for the rest of the day.  I cannot take trying to look busy at the moment.  I guess it’s time to pull out some DBT skills.  I’m really limited in what I can actually do at work (No laying down while meditating, taking a walk, or even sitting here being mindful).  Just typing this out helps.  I guess it’s soothing for me.

My boss’ cell phone is ringing.  He left it at his desk.  I guess he is definitely coming back today.  I feel like I am going to go out of my skin.  I don’t know how I will hold this in.  I have been anxious all day, probably because I am thinking about my doctor appt on Wednesday.  It is not a mental health doctor of any kind.  I will be having an exam and am pretty sure they will see my cuts/scars/scratches/marks.  I am trying to think about what I’m going to say if it’s addressed, and I’m pretty sure it will be.  I think I am going to tell the doc that I don’t want to discuss it.  I hope that will fly.  If all else fails, I have my therapist’s card in my wallet.  I guess they can always call her if they have concerns.  I’ll be at the Health Dept, though, so how much could they really care?  In and out is all they’re worried about.

I feel better.  I think keeping my mind occupied is the key.  That’s why I get so freaked out and anxious when I don’t have anything left to do.  I cannot keep my mind from wandering then.

Categories: Anxiety, Borderline Personality Disorder, BPD, Mental Illness, Panic Attack | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Worry, worry, worry

  1. I’m sorry to hear you’re having such a rough day. Hang in there. Do you have any hobbies that you engage in that maybe you could surf the internet looking for new ideas or information about? I know sometimes when I get overwhelmed I surf for knitting and crocheting patterns and that sometimes soothes me. Or, are you allowed to listen to music at your desk? That’s another way I sometimes deal with the anxiety. Something that I really enjoy listening to can help bring my mood back to level.

    • Thanks for you advice. I have found that distraction really works for me. I did start looking around online. It really took my mind off things.

  2. I like that you expressed this. What about self-soothing? Anything in your arsenal there?

    I think it’s important to reach out, because maybe there is someone in the audience that has something you maybe forgot about, or a suggestion that works for you. I hope I could have helped a little. I’m listening, anyway.

    • I haven’t learned much about self-soothing, yet, though I think it’s something I should probably pursue. Distraction really works for me. I’m still kind of new to DBT, and am anxious to learn new skills. Is there a specific self-soothing skill that works for you? Thanks for listening! 🙂

      • I’m a person that gets sensory overload very easily when I get upset. So, I’ll try to listen to some music, or sometimes I’ll just put my in my ear buds to block out some noise. Sometimes, I chew gum. The oral stimulation helps, and the repetitive motion helps as well. And sometimes, I just need to give myself a big hug. So, I’ll go to the restroom and hold myself for a minute. I find it steadies me.

        Definitely look into it. It’s a good coping mechanism.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

