“My Alien Self: My Journey Back to Me”


I just finished reading a memoir on BPD by UK author Amanda Green.  It’s entitled “My Alien Self:  My Journey Back to Me”.  I very much enjoyed reading this.  I have been feeling lately like there is no hope.  Like nothing will ever change.  I have no way out.  Reading Amanda’s story has let me know that there IS hope.  This pain may NOT last forever.  There may be an end to this, after all.

Amanda struggled for a long time with out of control emotions, an eating disorder, anger, abandonment issues, and OCD, among other things.  She had all nine traits of BPD and had difficulties with the majority of relationships she was in.  She seemed to constantly be on a roller coaster of emotions.  In her book, she was able to clearly articulate her struggles and overall life difficulties.  I was really able to sympathize with what she was going through, as those are things I try to deal with on a daily basis.

She learned to cope with and overcome her mental issues by using a variety of different therapy methods, including chronicling her life for her memoir.  Reading this has encouraged me to continue down the path I’m on, trying to recover (or at least better deal, if full recovery isn’t possible) using DBT group therapy, individual therapy, and much soul-searching.  I understand from reading her book that it will be difficult.  It will be a long, hard road.  But at least now I know that it is possible.

This is definitely a MUST READ for people who are thinking there’s no way out of the deep hole they’re in.  If you feel like the pain you are experiencing will never end, and there is no light at the end of the tunnel, please give this book a try.  It is absolutely worth reading.  It’s also good for people who have a loved one with BPD.  It would help them better understand what we are going through.  Amanda has shown that there is hope for people with mental health issues.  After I read this book, I felt much more positive about the possible outcome of my life, and the fact that I could change things if I really put forth the effort.  I 100% recommend this book, which can be purchased HERE.  Enjoy!

Categories: Anxiety, Borderline Personality Disorder, BPD, DBT, Mental Illness, Self Harm, Self-Injury, Therapy | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on ““My Alien Self: My Journey Back to Me”

  1. I love this. There is always hope. No one is beyond redemption. And everyone deserves the same fair shot at a happy, healthy life.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

