I Wanna Rip My Face Off


I have poison ivy.  On my face.  Again. 

I got it once at the end of fifth grade because I was trying to prove a friend wrong.  She pointed to something in the words behind my brother’s soccer game.  She said it was poison ivy. I said it was not.  After going back and forth a few times, I told her that, in order to prove that it was NOT poison ivy, I would rub it on my face. Turns out I was wrong.

I got it the second time at the end of seventh grade.  I didn’t want to go to school, and I knew poison ivy on my face got me out of school once before, so I figured I’d try it again.  Yup.  No school for a week.

I got it the third time shortly after I got married.  Jay and I had gone to my parents’ house for dinner, and I picked up the cat and rubbed my face on it.  The cat must have been playing in poison ivy, because my face swelled up so much that time that I looked like a duck.

I’m not sure how I got it this time.  As a REACH Empowerment skill, I have been trying to walk at least four times a day for twenty to thirty minutes. It’s the “h” in REACH Empowerment, meaning to “healthily exercise”. I have been doing my walking on the mountain bike trails in a park close to my work. I’m basically walking through the woods, so it make sense that they would be poison ivy. Guess I’ll have to be more careful in the future.

BTW I had another day of using the DBT skill of “building positive experiences”. Jay and I took the dog to the park for a while. Then, this evening we had another fire out back and cooked dinner in it. It’s been a good weekend so far.

Categories: Borderline Personality Disorder, BPD, DBT, Marriage, Mental Illness | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

