Building Positive Experiences


I just got back from what was supposed to be my DBT group.  Instead it was roughly 75 minutes with just me and the therapist.  I almost wish I had been double-teamed like last week (no one showed up expect for me and TWO therapists).  Today we were talking about positive experiences.  I have been trying to incorporate positive experiences into my day, whether it’s going to the park with Jay and the dog, or sitting around a nice fire in the evening.  I am supposed to add at least one more positive experience this week.  I think I am going to try to play a board game or a game of cards each day.  I guess I’ll have to see what Jay says about that.

Then we moved on to really focusing on the good things that are going on at the moment.  Being mindful of the positive things I am experiencing and not focusing on when it will end, whether or not I deserve the positive thing to happen, or other worries floating around in my head.  We talked about some things to do if I find myself focusing on the negative.  I am supposed to think about just one positive thing going on at the time.  Whether it is related to the negative thing I’m thinking or not.

I think that this will be a good thing for me to do.  I have a hard time focusing on the positive, especially if there are negative things going on right in my face.  I’ve been feeling better these past two weeks since practicing my REACH Empowerment (PLEASE Master) skills.  I feel better because I have been walking several times a week, and because I am FORCING positive moments into my day.  Yeah, these emotion regulation skills are really helping me.  I never would have thought of MAKING myself do something positive that I enjoy.  I guess sometimes the simple things really are the answer.

Categories: Borderline Personality Disorder, BPD, Daily Life, DBT, Mental Illness, Therapy | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

