When Will We Stop Hating?


It makes me sick that there are so many people in this world who think it’s ok to hate and judge others.  And, most of the time, they are hating others solely because they disagree with their moral beliefs.  I guess I am thinking specifically of homosexuality at the moment, but there are other examples.

Now, let me say this:  I was raised in a Christian home with parents that tried to follow the Bible the best they could according to what they believed.  I would also classify myself now as a Christian.  I try to love God and show love to others as best I can.  I try to follow the guidelines set forth in the Bible.  I know that I fall short many, many times.  I do not go around talking about what a great person I am, Christian or otherwise, though.

I also believe that the Bible clearly says that homosexuality is a sin.

Here is my problem, though:  I cannot expect people who don’t believe in the significance of the Bible like I do to follow the rules and guidelines in it.  And when others fall short of the expectations and rules in the Bible, I have absolutely no right to lord it over their heads, judge them, or be hateful and nasty.

Last night I read this article on the Daily Mail about a lesbian couple where one of the couple had a sex change.  I found it to be very interesting and enlightening.  I’m sure that it must be hard enough being part of a same-sex couple, but to be in a transgender relationship must be incredibly difficult.  I was shocked to hear about the people who would ask if the partner was a male or female while she was undergoing her change (Sorry if “change” isn’t the right word or offended people.  I’m not sure what to call it).  There also seemed to be a lot of hate from people who just flat out didn’t agree with the couple’s life style.

I just don’t understand why people think it’s ok to be mean and nasty to others just because they don’t agree.  It boggles my mind.  Someone disagreeing with you is not a personal slight.  It has nothing to do with YOU, but is more about the other person expressing their beliefs.  Everyone has the right to think and believe what they want.  Even if what they think and believe is hateful and hurtful.  They do NOT have a right to impose their hate and hurt on other people, though.

Look at the political scene.  America is being torn apart by people thinking it’s ok to spew HATE just because they don’t agree with the other person’s political stance.  People get crap where I work for siding with one candidate over the other.  And not just gentle banter and teasing.  It’s hardcore, nasty stuff.  On both sides!  It’s bad enough that the American people are being nasty to each other and to the candidates, but when the candidates themselves seem to condone hate speech, lies, and misrepresentations, it makes the people think it’s ok.  Politics has changed from actually being about the issues, to being about how low you can bring your opponent.  It has gone from expressing ideas to personal attacks.

And what happens when someone is constantly brought down because of what they believe or how they live their life?  They turn that hate inward.  They start feeling less than and unworthy because they don’t meet other people’s expectations.  They may become depressed, among many other things.  It could lead to self-harm or suicide.  It could lead to them expressing their displeasure on someone else.  And the cycle of hate continues.

Each person needs to follow their own morals, beliefs, political ideas, and personal thoughts the best they can so that they can be happy and content with their lives, but they have no right to judge others based on their own standards.  Everyone needs to live THEIR lives and let others do the same.  I do not want a person or organization telling me how I can and cannot live my life, and then making me feel bad because I do not meet their standards.  I wouldn’t want to do that to another person, either.  I cannot expect someone to abide by what I think is right, and whoever tries to make me abide by what THEY think is right better watch out!

Categories: Borderline Personality Disorder, BPD, Mental Illness, Relationships, Religion, Thoughts | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

