How My Self-Worth Was Destroyed


Lately, for some reason, I have been hearing my mother’s voice in my head.  Not in any kind of nice, warm, fuzzy, squishy kind of way.  I have been hearing the criticisms that she’s hurled at me through the years.

I was putting on face cream last night and noticed my eyebrows.  Instantly I heard, “Wow, you really need to pluck your eyebrows!”  It’s like I was transported back to the time in high school when my mother made that comment.

I felt like I was back in middle school the other day.  All of a sudden I had a flash in my mind.  I could see myself standing in the hallway of the townhouse we stayed in when I was in second through eighth grade.  I was modeling a new pair of shorts for my mother.  She asked me why I was standing funny, then commented that it must be because the shorts were too tight.

I remember being told in my freshman year of high school that when new clothes needed to be purchased, they would NOT be purchased in a larger size.  I received lots of comments from my mother about my weight and what clothes I shouldn’t wear because of it.  While in middle school, she pointed out that I should never wear skirts above my knees.  They were too chubby to show.  Anytime I wore a shirt that wasn’t as loose as a muumuu, I got raised eyebrows from her.  She was constantly telling me in different ways that I was too heavy.  All the while buying pizza for just the two of us to share in the middle of the night and keeping the house stocked with junk food.  Making sure I stayed overweight so she had something to pick on me about.

Not that she needed anything else.  She had no qualms picking on me and slicing me up about all kinds of things.  The way I cleaned my clothes.  The people I spent my time with.  The movies or television shows I watched.  My personal beliefs about God.  The state of my finger nails.  The shoes I wore.  My grades in school.  How I wore my hair.

Speaking of my hair…As a child and up until late high school I had no idea what to do with my hair.  It is impossibly thick and curly.  I can’t even run my fingers through it.  The slightest bit of humidity would make the curls change to waves, and it would frizz up five times its normal size.  Even though I always thought it was a mess, I got lots of compliments on it.  When I was in late elementary school or early middle school, my mother told me that one of my grandmothers didn’t like my hair.  Why did she do that?  Let’s tick off the reasons, shall we?

1)  My hair was the one thing I was regularly complimented on.  She wanted me to know it wasn’t all that pretty or special, and neither was I.

2)  She heard something that would hurt my feelings, and wanted to make sure that I knew about it, too.  Another way to drag me down.

3)  She wanted to put a rift between my grandmother and myself.  This was, I later found out, my father’s mother.  My mother never liked her, and let me know that my father’s parents didn’t like her, either.

She succeeded in putting a rift between my grandmother and I.  I always had hard feelings towards my grandmother after that.  I knew she didn’t like something about me, making me wonder if she even liked ME.  From then on I watched my grandmother through suspicious and skeptical eyes.  Everything she did and said, I took in a negative way.  I was convinced after that that I was her least favorite grandchild, and that she probably didn’t even like me.

Starting at an early age, I received constant criticism from the person that was supposed to love me the most.  It’s no wonder that now, as an adult, my self-esteem and self-worth would barely register on anyone’s scale.  It’s no wonder I think everything I say and do is completely stupid.  It’s no wonder I always think people are saying negative things about me, even when they aren’t.  I learned very young to take things as negatively as possible.  I have made the mistake of thinking someone was being nice and paying me a compliment, only to find out that they were being nasty and sarcastic.  That’s a really shitty feeling.  That’s why I can’t see any positive in what people say to me.  That’s why I focus on the negative.  I can’t allow myself to be devastated like that again.

The criticism didn’t end when I grew older, or even when I got married.  When I got married, I just gave my mother MORE things to find wrong with me.  The way I cleaned my house.  What beauty products I used.  Where I worked.  Where my husband worked.  The way I treated my husband.  The food I cooked.  The household products I used.  What I watched on TV.  What I wore.  How I drove.  The stores I shopped at… I’m sure everyone’s getting bored.  You get the gist.  The list could go on and on and on.  That’s why Jay and I eventually moved to Arkansas, over 1,000 miles away from my birth family.  That, and the fact that my mother was constantly trying to break up my marriage.  By the time Jay and I left Virginia, we had been married for almost 6 ½ years.  She was still trying to come between us, even after us being married for all those years.

Sigh…ok, enough of that.  I haven’t had many negative thoughts since I decided to end contact with my birth family, and I don’t intend to let the negative thoughts ruin my day.  I feel better after getting all this out of my brain.  Now I don’t have to ruminate on it and be brought down by it.  I refuse to be further destroyed by negative people.  I have been trying to build positive experiences into my day to increase my positive emotions.  I have no room for negative emotions and thoughts inserted into my head by other people.  I do enough of that on my own.

Categories: Borderline Personality Disorder, BPD, Marriage, Mental Illness, Relationships | Tags: , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “How My Self-Worth Was Destroyed

  1. Making sure I stayed overweight so she had something to pick on me about.

    My mother too. Meanwhile, my mother had an eating disorder.

    I’m pained to read this, because it’s so familiar. It’s so positive to hear that you’re remaining out of contact. For me, that was incredibly difficult, because my mother is particularly manipulative. Whenever she knows that guilt will only add fuel to my fire, she starts to try to become my best friend. And she knows me well enough to know how to do this. She knows that I don’t have many friends, and she’ll get her hooks in that way. Whatever your mother has and hasn’t done, I’m glad that you stayed strong with your resolve.

    My mother did many of the same things. She picked on me about everything. She created a schism between my father and I. She isolated me from the rest of the world. She did it by her subtle manipulations. And it has been so difficult in my life to stop having a victim mentality as a result.

    The good thing is this. We have our time and space to get past this. And our blogs and people to connect with.

    I hope you are well, and I hope you continue to gain all of that positive ground. Personally, I find it inspiring!

    • Thank you for your comment! I’m sorry you’ve had to go through a lot of the same things with your mother. My mother is incredibly manipulative, too. I just ended up having to totally remove myself from ANY contact with her. I know that if we were still in touch in any way, she would find a way to rope me back in. Mothers are so devious!

      You are right that we have time and space to get past this. I know that’s exactly what I need. The more time I put in between when she and I last had contact, the better I’ve been feeling. I’m looking forward to one day where I am no longer consumed with anger when I think about her. My therapist says it’s natural to have strong feelings like that for a while…I’m just hoping they go away soon!

      Thanks again for your comment, and thanks for reading! 🙂

  2. Pingback: My Descent into Madness « Struggling with BPD

  3. Pingback: Mimicking Behaviors Gets Me Into Trouble « Struggling with BPD

  4. Pingback: Maybe I’m Just a Tad Defensive… « Struggling with BPD

  5. Pingback: All You Had to Do Was Pretend, Debbie « Struggling with BPD

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

