P!nk – “Conversations With My 13-Year Old Self”


This song always makes me sad, and makes me think of how I myself was as a young teen.  I wish I had had this song to listen to then.  It might have made me feel better.  Now, I just remember my shitty teenage years and want to cry when I hear this song.  Still a good one, though.  🙂

Conversations with my thirteen year old self
Conversations with my thirteen year old self
You’re angry
I know this
The world couldn’t care less
You’re lonely
I feel this
And you wish you were the best
No teachers
Or guidance
And you always walk alone
You’re crying
At night when
Nobody else is homeCome over here and let me hold your hand and hug you darling
I promise you that it won’t always feel this bad
There are so many things I want to say to you
You’re the girl I used to be
You little heartbroken thirteen year old me

You’re laughing
But you’re hiding
God I know that trick too well
You forget
That I’ve been you
And now I’m just the shell
I promise
I love you and
Everything will work out fine
Don’t try to
Grow up yet
Oh just give it some time

The pain you feel is real you’re not asleep but it’s a nightmare
But you can wake up anytime
Oh don’t lose your passion or the fighter that’s inside of you
You’re the girl I used to be
The pissed off complicated thirteen year old me

Conversations with my thirteen year old self
Conversations with my thirteen year old self

Until we meet again
Oh I wish you well oh
I wish you well
Little girl
Until we meet again
Oh
I wish you well
Little girl
I wish you well
Until we meet again
My little thirteen year old me

Categories: Borderline Personality Disorder, BPD, Daily Life, Depressed, Mental Illness, Music, Personal, Sad, Thoughts | Tags: | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “P!nk – “Conversations With My 13-Year Old Self”

  1. SO truly sad/me then/me now….39 years later. (?)

    • Yeah, I hear you. I think I’ll always be able to relate to that song…and so many of her other ones, too! 🙂

  2. Viola Lilac Indue

    I love her music so much; she’s so unique. This is a really good song. Once in a while a music artist is able to write song lyrics that reach millions of people and touch their souls. I sometimes feel like she’s singing about me. Or that she’s kind of like me. My current favorite Pink song is “Try.” Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • Oh my gosh I ALWAYS feel like she’s singing to me! LOL Her new album is great. I loving “How Come You’re Not Here” and “The King is Dead But the Queen is Alive” off it.

      • Viola Lilac Indue

        Haha, it makes you feel a little better–like you aren’t alone. You’re not the only one feeling crazy, scared, sad, angry, regretful, etc. You’re not the only one suffering. I always wish I could go back and talk with my thirteen year old self. I’ll have to look up those songs. I haven’t heard them yet.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

