Emotional Clearing in the Bathroom


I think I’m going to have to research and start using the Emotional Freedom Technique, also called “Emotional Clearing”.  I only understand it on a very basic level, but I believe it is using acupressure as a means of calming oneself.  You are supposed to tap on various pressure points (middle of chest, “third eye” on forehead, under mouth, somewhere in the side area, etc) while saying something calming to yourself.  The name also leads me to believe that by doing this, it will enable me to clear out the negative emotions that I have built up due to all the crap in my past.

There are numerous employees leaving the construction project that I work with.  A few left today.  The rest will be trickling out throughout the weekend.  As I was sitting at my desk, one of them came up to me and put his arm around me, and leaned down real close in my face.  He told me he enjoyed working with me and thanked me for all I’ve done.  I, of course, froze.  I was able to stutter out that it was nice working with him.  Then I struggled to hold back tears as he walked away.

Before I was in full crying mode, I SPRINTED to the bathroom and started tapping on my chest like my new age therapist recommended last night.  Crazy Jay has been doing this tapping thing for a while.  He says it helps.  I feel silly doing it, and haven’t really tried.  Not when I needed it, anyway.  As I was tapping on my chest, I said things to remind myself that I was not in a threatening situation, and that I had not just been violated.  My personal space may have been violated, but most people don’t view hugs as an ASSAULT, like I do.

Anywho, after tapping for a few minutes and repeating phrases to myself, I was able to get control of my breath so I no longer felt like I would hyperventilate.  The tears dried up, and I stopped shaking.  It seems that this tapping/Emotional Clearing stuff may just work.  I am going to do some research on it today, and I will talk to my wacky new age therapist about it.  It would be nice to actually find something that helps take away my negative emotions and calm my anxiety.

I thought the title was funny, by the way.  It was just to be called “Emotional Clearing”.  I thought it would be HIGHlarious to add “in the bathroom”.  Afterall, that’s where I was!!  LOL

Categories: Abuse, Anxiety, Borderline Personality Disorder, BPD, EFT, Mental Illness, Panic Attack, Relationships, Sexual Abuse, Therapy | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Emotional Clearing in the Bathroom

  1. I’ve read some about EFT. Hope it helps!

  2. Whet the hell is wrong with the fucking SnapperHeads that they JUST CAN”T GET not to fucking touch you, eh?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

