It CAN Work!


Things have been more stressful than usual at work lately.  The project is coming to an end, so there is a huge push to get everything done as quickly and cheaply as possible.  Everyone is having to put in a lot of hours this week, and the overall tone in the office is almost panicky.  Throughout the past week or so, I have been going through affirmations to help with stress and anxiety.  As a result, I have been more upbeat and far less stressed than my co-workers.

Yesterday was particularly difficult.  The last hour or two of my 11.5 hour day my neck and shoulders were stiff.  My head was starting to fill with anger, and negative thoughts.  I thought I should change my affirmation up a little to address the issues I was experiencing.  For the remaining hours of my day, and the entire drive home, I was repeating:

I release all negativity that rests in my body and in my mind.

When I got home last night, Jay and I had a very enjoyable evening.  We played some darts (who knew Crazy Jay was such a tosser?) and talked smack while doing so.  Jay lost the game.  He couldn’t stay in the moment like I could.  Don’t let him tell you differently, either!!  Then, we watched some TV, and spent time talking.

An hour or so into the evening, I told Jay the affirmation I had been repeating on the way home.  He laughed at me.  Then I asked him how he thought it worked.  I was the one to start laughing when Jay grudgingly admitted the affirmation seemed to work pretty well.  I was happy to show him that affirmations can be effective.  It’s not just saying something soft and squishy to yourself.  It’s not an act of weakness.  It’s about taking your mind off the negative feelings and thoughts you’re having, and refocusing to something positive.  Feelings are only thoughts that we have about ourselves, and thoughts can be changed.

I don’t have any negative thoughts or feelings rolling around in my head or body right now, so my affirmation for the day will be:

I am wonderful and I feel great.  I am grateful for my life.

Categories: Affirmations, Borderline Personality Disorder, Healing, Life, Stress, Thoughts | Tags: , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “It CAN Work!

  1. OK…FINE. You’re fucking right. The fucking stupid pansy ass fucking affirmations work, ok? And you are right also that you won at darts, IF WE WERE AIMING AT THE FLOOR. Whatever…. fuck you! LMAO

  2. Viola

    I sometimes find it helps to do a visual if repeating an affirmation like that. With every inhale, I imagine taking in a bright light that washes away everything awful inside. And with every exhale, I imagine releasing all of that darkness, the pain. This visual also helps if you’re taught to use breathing exercises in therapy, to calm the nerves. Take care.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

